Bad customer service destroys brand relationships

One of the best aspects of social media is that it has motivated companies to become customer focused. To attract and retain business, companies today had better be on their A-game as far as customer service goes or be exposed for it on online. Every contact between customer and employee is a reflection of the brand and vital to the brand image. Customers will only tolerate poor service for so long before abandoning the brand.Broken promise concept.

The eighth annual Accenture Global Consumer Survey found, not surprisingly, that broken promises are a top area of frustration for consumers. According to the survey, nearly two-thirds (63 percent) of respondents indicate it’s extremely frustrating when a company delivers a different customer service experience from what it promised upfront. Seventy eight percent of consumers say they are likely to leave when they encounter such broken promises.

A woman’s clothing store has lost me as an online customer. This store has the worst service I’ve ever encountered. I ordered a gift card for my sister for Christmas one year and the store took three weeks later than the promised delivery date to get it to her. When I called to inquire about my order, the “customer service” representative could not have been more unconcerned if she tried. She offered no explanation, no apologies and, obviously, no service.

A year later, I placed an online order for two blouses and opted to have it shipped to the physical store to take advantage of free shipping. Email confirmation said the store would contact me when my order was in. Weeks went by without any further communication from the retailer. Three weeks later, I finally called about my order. I learned my order was at the store and had been since 5 days after the order was placed.  Contrary to the email confirmation I’d received, no one had called to let me know my order was in. The “customer service” representative I spoke with blamed it on store personnel and told me if I didn’t pick my order up within 3 days the store would ship it back.

That was the point at which I said good-bye to this retailer. Two consecutive screw ups is two too many. Especially when there are so many other options available. Clearly this store does not have its people, systems, functions, processes, leadership and front lines aligned. My advice is to cease all online ordering activity until you do. Otherwise, prepare for an exodus of customers.

Leave a Reply

